How “Stranger Things” Helped Me Write Poetry

With the new year came new promises-to our bank accounts, to others, to our belts-and some promises we were bound to break. While I didn’t go for the average “I want to lose weight” or “I want to read more books” for my new years resolution, I did make a promise to myself to write more poetry.

I started small, and told myself that every day in January, I would write one haiku. I thought this would surly get my writing juices flowing, plus give me a chance to write in a style that I normally don’t chose to. As January comes to an end, I find myself holding true to my promise-kind of.

I have been writing more poetry this month. In fact, I’ve been using a journal I got for Christmas and filling each page with new writing every day. However, I’m using a process that is somewhat unconventional. Which brings me back to Stranger Things.

A few weeks ago, I checked out a book on astronomy. I have always enjoyed learning about the stars, and with my newfound love for the Science Fiction genre, I’m nerding out with each new page. However, I needed to find some kind of background noise to put into my ears to get away from the noise of the  bustling library. I chose the Stranger Things soundtrack, which has proven to help me focus. Suddenly, I found myself writing poems about distant planets and nebulas, all thanks to the Duffer Brothers. Not all of them are haikus, mind you, but I’m not going to try to stop myself when I’m in the zone!

The mix of sci-fi 80s-esque music has also helped me focus in new ways. In fact, I’ve started a new writing project: a science fiction novella! I’m pretty excited about it, even though I have more prominent writing projects I should be working on, I couldn’t resist.

Have you made any resolutions for the new year? Which ones have you been keeping?

Leave a Reply

